Council 4 Supports Safe Futures In New London

New London, CT , May 30, 2019 – Council 4, a union representing 30,000 workers in Connecticut, donated $4,366 to Safe Futures, a New London-based non-profit agency that helps those impacted by domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, and trafficking in southeastern Connecticut.

Council 4 members and leaders presented the donation to Safe Futures Director of Development & Communications Melissa Porter Zaitchik. The Council 4 Women’s Committee raised the funds through a silent auction at the union's recent biennial conference in Groton.

“The staff at Safe Futures are doing heroic work to build safer, healthier and more humane communities in New London County,” said Women’s Committee Co-Chairs Marybeth Hill (AFSCME Local 2663) and Marsha Tulloch (AFSCME Local 269). “We are proud and honored to support their mission.”

Council 4 Executive Director Jody Barr noted that AFSCME union members – ranging from social workers and school paraprofessionals to public university program advisors and police officers – interact regularly with adults and children in need of the services that Safe Futures provides.

“Safe Futures is saving lives and changing lives,” added Barr, who joined Council 4 Women’s Committee members in presenting the donation.

Safe Futures operates two 24-hour hotlines, an emergency shelter, and transitional living programs for families and individuals working to rebuild lives shattered by domestic violence or sexual assault.  Safe Futures also provides counseling and advocacy, case management, court support services, support groups, and educational prevention programs for schools and community groups. 

“We are grateful to Council 4 union members for their generous contribution. These funds will directly support vital services and programs that help victims of domestic violence and sexual assault, stalking and trafficking,” said Safe Futures Executive Director Katherine Verano.

Photo: Seated--Marsha Tulloch, AFSCME Local 269, Melissa Zaitchik, Safe Futures. Standing--Claudine Wilkins-Chambers, AFSCME Local 3144; Jody Barr, Council 4; Marybeth Hill, AFSCME Local 2663; Ronda Charette, AFSCME Local 610.